Whether you live in Georgia or plan to travel to the state, it is vital that you understand the state’s gun laws. The state’s constitution guarantees the right to keep and bear arms of its citizens. However, failing to follow the laws and regulations we are going to discuss here today could lead to you facing serious legal consequences.
A person does not need a permit to carry a firearm:
- In a person’s home, place of business, or vehicle.
- If it is a long gun in a fully open and exposed manner.
- If it is uloaded in a case.
- When hunting, as long as they have a valid fishing or hunting license.
Is open carry permitted in Georgia?
Carrying a concealed weapon in Georgia requires a Weapons Carry License. Georgia is a “shall issue” state and a person must submit their application for a license to the local probate court with a valid state identification. Applicants must be 21 years old. The fee for a carry license is $75.00.
If an applicant can also receive a carry license if they are under 21 but over 18 and are active duty military or have been honorably discharged.
Obtaining a license to carry a firearm in Georgia does not require any classroom or firearms training courses.
What places are off limits?
A Georgia Weapons License holder may not carry their firearm in certain areas.
- Federal government property
- Government buildings that are restricted or screened by security personnel or law enforcement
- Jails or prisons
- Places of worship unless allowed by the government bod
- State mental health facilities
- Nuclear power facilities
- Within 150 feet of a polling place on election day
- On K-12 school grounds unless picking up a student (weapons may be kept secured in a vehicle on school grounds)
- Can carry on public college campuses is allowed under Georgia law.
Georgia has reciprocity with the concealed carry permits from 31 other states. This means that the state will honor the other state’s licensing and possession laws and those states will honor Georgia’s license. When a person with a carry license from another state is in Georgia, they must abide by all state firearm laws even if they differ from their home state.
Those states are:
- Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
Open Carry In Georgia
A person can only carry a handgun openly in Georgia if they have a Georgia Weapons Carry License. The same restrictions apply to a person who is carrying openly as if they had the weapon concealed.
You may also openly carry a firearm inside of your vehicle in Georgia without a weapons license provided you meet the requirements of having a permit.
Buying Guns in Georgia
Anyone who is over the age of 21 and is not a convicted felon can purchase a firearm in Georgia. All that is necessary is that the person buying the gun have a valid state identification. A background check is required if you are buying a firearm from a licensed gun dealer in Georgia.
Private sales or transfers of firearms do not require background checks.
Georgia Shootings and Gun Crimes
If you have been the victim of a gun crime in Georgia, you may need to seek legal assistance from a qualified and knowledgable attorney.