What Is a Statute of Limitations for a Personal Injury Lawsuit?

Every state has a statute of limitations that establishes a deadline for filing a personal injury lawsuit. This deadline ensures the filing of personal injury lawsuits before evidence is lost or witnesses’ memories fade. In Georgia, you generally have two years from the date of your injury to file a personal injury lawsuit under O.C.G.A. § 9-3-33. Claims arising from a loss of consortium have a four-year filing limit. A lawsuit filed after the statute of limitations expires will usually be dismissed by the trial court.

Get a Free Consultation

Free Consultation

"*" indicates required fields

Agree To Terms*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Us Now For Legal Help

car fire
$150 Million Landmark Wrongful Death Verdict

Butler Kahn secured a $150 million jury verdict against Chrysler for the family of a 4-year-old boy who was killed in a devastating crash in Georgia. Our firm held the giant automaker accountable for Remington Walden’s death and for failing to warn the public about dangers associated with its Jeep Grand Cherokee. Learn More